Injury at Sea Logo white.

No Fee Unless You Win

Answered Live 24/7
by a Maritime Lawyer

Habla español

FREE Consultation - Call 24/7

Habla español

Maritime Injury News

What to do in a Recreational Boating Accident

By Injury at Sea

Clear skies and warm weather in Washington State makes for the perfect time to go boating. Great weather means that there will be more recreational boats in the water than usual, increasing the chances of a boating accident occurring. 

If you are a recreational boater, it is important to understand what to do in case of a boating accident and how to properly report it. Similarly to a car accident, there is a set of recommended procedures to follow if you have been involved in a recreational boating collision. 

The Recreational Boating Safety Program keeps track of all boating accidents and deaths that occur within Washington. They have a set of steps every recreational boater should know and follow if they were to get into an accident. 

Stop the Boating Vehicle

If you have been in a boating accident, you must stop your vessel and assist those who might be injured. Stopping your boating vessel could also prevent further injuries if anyone had fallen overboard. 

Take Down Necessary Information

Just like in a car accident, it is essential to take down information if there was another boat operator involved in the collision. This information will help you fill out an accident report later and should include:

  • Name of the boater involved
  • Number of the other boat
  • Number of people involved in the accident
  • Address and phone number of the boat operator
  • Date, time, and location of the accident

Submit an Accident Report

In most cases, the boat operator will have to submit an accident report. If an accident is not reported, the boat owner can be fined by Washington State. The form for the accident report can be found here

  1. An accident report must be submitted to a law enforcement agency within 48 hours if: 
    1. There is an injury,
    2. There is a death,
    3. Or there is a missing person.
  2. If there is property damage of over $2,000, a report must be filed. This report must be submitted within 10 days of the accident. 

Contact an Experienced Maritime Injury Lawyer

A lack of attention and lack of experience are some main causes of recreational boating accidents. If negligence is the cause of a boating collision, you may be entitled to compensation. 

Our maritime injury attorneys have vast experience supporting clients who have been involved in recreational boating accidents. For an immediate telephone consultation to discuss your maritime injury case, call Injury At Sea at 1-800-732-7258 or contact us online. You can trust us to protect your rights and get you fair compensation for the injuries you have suffered.


The information contained in this update is provided for informational purposes only. Please contact your attorney to obtain advice on any particular legal matter.

No Fee Unless You Win

Answered Live 24/7
by a Maritime Lawyer

Scroll to Top